Activity Book, Page 4: Pocket Watch

For this activity book page, I integrated a clock as a pocket watch so that I could incorporate buttons somewhere in the book.

Activity Book: Pocket Watch
What time is it?
Practice buttoning and unbuttoning.

I’m a relative sewing novice, so I learned some new terms: polo shirt placket and welt pocket; and it was my first time making any type of pocket and buttonholes. The buttonholes were particularly intimidating because of all the extra foreign hardware that was involved. Luckily, I still have the original sewing manual from the machine (and its button-making hardware) that I inherited from my mother.

sewing manual Kenmore Ultrastitch 12

This page had to incorporate some cotton fabric because felt would have added too much bulk. For the inside of the pocket, I used the fabric that I’m planning to use for the book cover and had to remove the welt pocket (felt) flap.

Activity Book: Pocket Watch

The Clock
I created a template for the numbers (download below) that I traced and used to embroider using the tracing paper method. While embroidering, the white clock face was reinforced with a stiff interface.

I wanted to reinforce the clock face even further so I added a piece of recycled paperboard. The clock arms were reinforced with paperboard as well. Instead of ribbon, I used jewelry chain that is sold by the yard because it has a nicer quality to it.

Download pocket watch template.

MATERIALS
Felt, fabric, sewing thread, buttons, brass fastener, interfacing, batting, yarn, jewelry chain, recycled paperboard

STATS
Number of cut pieces: 9
Colors used: apple green, goldenrod, white, dark brown

INSPIRATIONS / REFERENCES

In adapting the pocket watch pattern from here, I created a new template for the white clock face (a larger cutout) with a traceable template for embroidering numbers of the clock face.
Download pocket watch template.

Polo Shirt Placket Tutorial
http://www.mellysews.com/2012/04/polo-shirt-placket-tutorial.html

Sewing Welt Pockets
http://www.craftsy.com/article/sewing-welt-pockets

Leave a Reply

